Cauliflower Mashed “Potatoes”

(secretly) healthy comfort food

Dear readers, I have an embarrassing confession to make. I’m not sure I even want to admit this to myself, but last night I did something truly, awfully depraved. I cooked ( I use that term loosely here) and ate instant mashed potatoes. I’m not proud. I’m still trying to understand and come to terms with this strange behavior.

Well, after some deep analysis, I came to the conclusion that due to my love of real mashed potatoes I, in a fit of empty-cupboard syndrome, pulled the box of “Shur-Fine” instant mashed potatoes from the deepest, darkest corner of the cabinet where it had been sitting alone, spurned by the other food ever since I had bought it for a bread recipe (secret ingredient). I was even embarrassed to be seen buying them in the grocery store, and considered explaining myself to the cashier but managed to restrain myself with my usual admonition, “thing like crazy person no do!”

So what does this have to do with cauliflower, you might ask? Well, everything.

Due to their almost total lack of nutrition plus aggregate value of butter + carb bomb, I only eat mashed potatoes approximately 4 times a year. I don’t even have a potato in the house! But what if you could have them any night of the week? What if…they could even be…healthy?

I give you…Caulifower Mashed Potatoes!  Do I even need to explain the advantages? Hmm, we could make a chart here, but I think it’s pretty obvious. You can eat the whole bowl. Enough said. Oh also, um, vitamins. 

(recipe after the jump)

Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes

I followed this recipe exactly since this was the first time I made it. Next time, I think I’ll try adding one eensy weensy potato to improve the texture, which was not quite as thick as real mashed potatoes (although impressively close). I would also try to squeeze as much water out of the cauliflower as possible.

I put the cauliflower in a blender/food processor instead of mashing them by hand, which worked really well and gave them a creamy consistency.

ingredients:

1 head of cauliflower
3 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon butter
2 tablespoons light sour cream (optional- I skipped this and it was still good)
1/4 teaspoon garlic (or plain) salt
freshly ground black pepper
snipped chives

directions:

1. Separate the cauliflower into florets and chop the core finely.

2. Bring about 1 cup of water to a simmer in a pot, then add the cauliflower. Cover and turn the heat to medium. Cook the cauliflower for 12-15 minutes or until very tender.

3. Drain and discard all of the water (the drier the cauliflower is, the better) and add the milk, butter, sour cream, salt and pepper and mash with a masher until it looks like “mashed potatoes.” Top with chives.

original recipe adapted from {Steamy Kitchen}

4 thoughts on “Cauliflower Mashed “Potatoes”

  1. Hmm seeing as I’m the unhealthiest person in the world I might have to give these a try lol I’m trying to make the transition to vegetables, but alas, it’s a slow one. Although I have to say these look delicious 🙂

    • Thanks!:) They were indeed delicious. Make sure you strain out as much water as possible, or you could even cook the blended cauliflower in a nonstick pan for a few minutes to boil out more of the water.

Tell Me What You Think!

