The Science of Procrastination

Did I mention that I’m now a grad student? this video is particularly relevant to me at the moment (in fact, I’m posting this in class…hah!)

And solutions? One is the Pomodoro technique, a time-management method similar to timeboxing that uses timed intervals of work and reward.

“Human motivation is highly influenced by how imminent the reward is perceived to be — meaning, the further away the reward is, the more you discount its value. This is often referred to as Present bias, or Hyperbolic discounting.”

Also check out The Thief of Time: Philosophical Essays on Procrastination

{via Brain Pickings}

One thought on “The Science of Procrastination

  1. This is basically what I do now when I’m studying. I read that studying something for more than 20 to 30 minutes at a time is actually kind of detrimental in that information only goes into your long-term memory for a short time, and then you need a break to sort of reset it. So I study French, take a break and watch something on Youtube, then back to French, check Facebook, and on and on, providing I’ve got the time. If studying from one source becomes boring I stop and use something else- flash cards, movies, music, podcasts, etc. If I’ve had too much French for 1 day, I stop studying, since my goal is long-term retention, not short-term regurgitation for a test or something.

Tell Me What You Think!

