How To Guide: Make Your Own Chalkboard

I don’t know about you, but I am addicted to lists. I need a to-do list or I am completely lost. But who wants to hang a boring whiteboard in the middle of your cool house? Not this girl! So I was excited to learn that it is ridiculously easy to make your own chalkboard out of pretty much anything.

I chose an old window, because I love the idea of a multi-paneled chalkboard. I picked one up at my local salvage store, but you could probably find one at a yard sale, or in that pile of junk out back (you know someone in your family’s got one).

Supplies Needed:

1 surface (an old window, old enamel baking pans…the list is endless! Or, of course, you could always go with a standard piece of wood. Tip: if you use something metal, it’s a magnetic chalkboard. How cool is that? )

1 bottle of chalkboard paint. I used “Martha Stewart” brand because it was all that my local craft store had…I’m sure any kind would work just fine.

1 paintbrush. I had pretty good luck with a foam brush.

Here it is….my old, filthy window. I cleaned the glass before applying any paint, but I wanted one that looked nice and beat-up. I chose well, don’t you think?

Annnd a few simple materials….

Slap on some paint! I actually had a bit of trouble getting the first coat onto the glass because it’s so slippery. Just be patient and put a thin coat on, let it dry completely (if you don’t, the paint will come off in chunks when you try to put another coat on!) and do a few more coats. I would recommend four coats, if you’re using glass.

I hung my chalkboard up by putting two nails in the back and putting some twine around them to make a loop.

Voila! That’s it…I am now 100% more organized!

Like this post? You may also be interested in How To Guide: Canvas Photo Transfer.

5 thoughts on “How To Guide: Make Your Own Chalkboard

  1. Thanks for the lesson. I never knew there was such thing as chalkboard paint. I might just make my own chalk board using your instructions. In my house, we’re always making notes to each other or writing reminders on post-its.

Tell Me What You Think!

